PHDA and Core Competencies for Public Health Professionals

The Core Competencies for Public Health Professionals are a consensus set of foundational skills for the broad practice of public health. The Core Competencies for Public Health in Canada are organized into seven skill areas or domains that transcend the boundaries of specific disciplines and provide a baseline for all public health professionals.

The seven categories include:

  1. Public health sciences
  2. Assessment and analysis
  3. Policy and program planning, implementation and evaluation
  4. Partnerships, collaboration, advocacy
  5. Diversity
  6. Communication
  7. Leadership

Subject matter and related skill development covered in our PHDA courses support professional development in many key core competency domains listed above. See the table below for details.

Public Health Sciences
Assessment and Analysis
Policy and Program Planning, Implementation and Evaluation
Partnerships, collaboration, advocacy
PHDA 01: Working with Administrative Data      
PHDA 02: Epidemiological Statistics    
PHDA 03: Population Health and GIS  
PHDA 04: Spatial Epidemiology and Outbreak Detection      
PHDA 05: Longitudinal Analysis and Multi - level Modelling of Population Health Data        
PHDA 06: Health Services Program Monitoring and Evaluation

Duration and credits

PHDA courses are fully online and delivered over a 12 week period that includes 36 "instructional contact hours" of class activities including readings, videos and forum discussions. To complete these activities along with related weekly assignments or labs/peer review work, students can expect to spend approximately 8 - 12 hours per week.

Credits: Statement of completion for each course.