The Restoration of Natural Systems and Ecological Restoration Programs are supported and guided by an Advisory Committee of experts who review and make recommendations to keep our programs current. Our committee members ensure that we deliver relevant and substantial content that evolves in tandem with the field. Through dialogue with the following leaders, innovators, and researchers, we provide programs distinguished by their breadth, expert design and academic rigour:


Karena Shaw PhD, Director, Associate Professor, School of Environmental Studies, UVic

Val Schaefer PhD (Ecology), Academic Administrator, Restoration of Natural Systems Programs, UVic

Brian Starzomski PhD (Zoology), Associate Professor, School of Environmental Studies, UVic

Eric Higgs PhD (Interdisciplinary – Philosophy and Regional Planning and Resources Development), Professor, School of Environmental Studies, UVic

Angeline Tillmanns PhD (Ecology), Unit Head, State of Environment Reporting – Science Policy and Economics Branch, BC Ministry of Environment

David Polster M.Sc, R.P.Bio, CERP, Plant Ecologist, Polster Environmental Services LTD.

Bev Windjack, BCSLA, AALA, CSLA, ASLA, LEED, AP, BD+C, Principal, LADR Landscape Architects Inc.

Geraldine Allen PhD (Biology), Professor, Department of Biology, UVic

Marika Smith  (Environmental Science Royal Roads University), Executive Director, Victoria Compost Education Centre

Jamie Peters, RNS Diploma Alumni, Contract Coordinator Back Country Trails Rehabilitation, Government Of Alberta

  • Posted June 21, 2018