English for Global Communication is part of Global Connect, the ELC Connect series of online programs, designed to offer an interactive learning experience to students who want to improve their English for academic, travel or professional purposes. 

 

Jump to:

Program description

English for Global Communication is ideal for anyone who wants to improve their English language proficiency. Whether you are an upper beginner (level 1) or more advanced (level 5) student, you’ll improve your English in just 4 weeks.

This online program combines real-time lessons with our expert instructors, discussion forums, interactive group activities and online assignments. Small class sizes, experienced teachers and an engaging theme-based curriculum are what define this program.

 

Program features

  • Four weeks of instruction with experienced EAL teachers
  • Small class sizes
  • Five general class levels, from "upper beginner" to "advanced", benchmarked to the CEFR global standard
  • Ten instructional hours/week (40 hours total) 
  • Engaging curriculum to help you develop English and essential professional skills
  • Access to the UVic library’s digital resources (journals, ebooks, etc.)
  • Cultural Connect activity calendar
  • Certificate of Participation
  • Record of Grade from one of Canada's top comprehensive universities

Program schedule

Students can expect to study 10 hours a week for a total of 40 hours of instruction.

In this course, UVic instructors guide students through "synchronous" (in real time) and "asynchronous" (according to one's own schedule) learning activities. Students will benefit from real-time lessons and interactive discussion forums, short lectures and language assignments. Class time is ten hours per week of synchronous, asynchronous and homework learning activities.  

Synchronous times

These real-time learning activities will take place three times per week at 5-6 pm Pacific Time (GMT-7).

Sessions:  Sessions 1 Session 2 Session 3 
Day/time: Tuesday 5-6 pm Pacific Time (GMT-7) Wednesday 5-6 pm Pacific Time (GMT-7)     Thursday 5-6 pm Pacific Time (GMT-7)    
Depending on your time zone, this corresponds to:

Tuesday:

  • 7-8 pm in Mexico
  • 9-10 pm in Brazil

Wednesday: 

  • 8-9 am in China 
  • 9-10 am in Japan and Korea

Wednesday:

  • 7-8 pm in Mexico
  • 9-10 pm in Brazil

Thursday:

  • 8-9 am in China 
  • 9-10 am in Japan and Korea

Thursday:

  • 7-8 pm in Mexico
  • 9-10 pm in Brazil

Friday: 

  • 8-9 am in China 
  • 9-10 am in Japan and Korea

Online cultural activities

In addition to learning activities, students will be invited to online cultural activities, including:

Mix and Mingle - to meet your classmates at the beginning of your course

Experience Victoria videos - to learn more about life in Canada

Café Social - to practice English with other students and native speakers

Oh Canada - to learn about Canadian stories and events, for discussion at Café Social

End of Course Celebration - to connect with your classmates on the last day of your course 

Estimated fees per program

Fees due upon application Fee Notes
Program deposit $25.00 Due at time of registration.
Tuition fees Fee Notes
Balance of Tuition ($695 - $25) $670.00 Regular tuition: $895. (Register by July 1, 2020 for introductory offer of $695)
Accommodation and meals Fee Notes
n/a $0.00 Online programs do not include accommodation or meals.
Total: $695.00

Program dates

Starting in
August
Program dates
Aug. 4 – 28, 2020
Program status
Courses open for registration
Accommodation
Homestay: n/a
Dorms: n/a
Starting in
September
Program dates
Aug. 31 – Sept. 25, 2020
Program status
Courses open for registration
Accommodation
Homestay: n/a
Dorms: n/a
Starting in
October
Program dates
Oct. 12 – Nov. 6, 2020
Program status
Courses open for registration
Accommodation
Homestay: n/a
Dorms: n/a
Starting in
November
Program dates
Nov. 23 – Dec. 18, 2020
Program status
Courses open for registration
Accommodation
Homestay: n/a
Dorms: n/a

Application information

Registration requirements

Minimum age requirement: 16 years old.

View the System Requirements for online courses.

English Proficiency Test

Your registration fee includes our online ELC English Proficiency Test (EPT), required for participation in the English for Global Communication program. It will assist us in determining the appropriate program level for you. You will receive information from us to complete the test prior to the start of your program. 

How to apply

For application information, please click the Apply Now button.