Symphonic Masterpieces


Course description

This course is designed to help students develop their listening skills and appreciation of classical music. Each lecture corresponds with a different program from the Victoria Symphony’s 2017-18 Masterworks series including such works as Holst’s The Planets, Rachmaninoff’s Second Symphony, and Verdi’s Requiem. Featured artists this year include pianists Jon Kumura Parker and Jan Lisiecki as well as violinist James Ehnes, all under the direction of the symphony’s new conductor, Christian Kluxen.

Through guided listening and class discussion, you will learn how to listen to the form, instrumentation and style in the selected works. By learning what to listen for, your enjoyment during concerts will increase significantly. All levels of listeners are welcome to this class.

Registration details

You have already registered for this course.

View My account

This item is already in your shop cart.

View shop cart
Fee Tax Subtotal
{{ ::(fee.price | currency) }} {{ ::( | currency) }} {{ ::( | currency) }}
{{ ::(child.price | currency) }} {{ ::( | currency) }} {{ ::( | currency) }}
    Total {{ fee.totalFees | currency }}

Add to Shop Cart

Note: You will be asked to log in or create an account to register and pay for this course.

Having trouble registering online? Register by phone: 250-472-4747

You're already on the waiting list for this item.

Sorry, this section is full.

Online registration temporarily unavailable

Sorry, this course is not available for registration at this time.

This course is in progress. Please contact us for more details.

Online registration is closed for this course. You may still be able to register by phone. Call 250-472-4747 to find out.

This course is on your wish list. You will be notified when this course becomes available.

Want to receive notification when this course becomes available?

Note: you will need to log in/create a new account to use this feature.

Add to wish list

Info you should know: